PanSuriya Art Post


Tuesday Snippets #2
17 October 2014, 17:46
Filed under: exhibit

PSD_2Every Tuesday evening Pansodan opens up its Gallery Space for a gathering, in which all sorts of people interested in the future of the country enjoy conversation and perhaps some beer until late at night. Guitars generally come out after midnight. Find out this time why Michelle, a novelist from Melbourne (Australia) came to Pansodan!

`I first showed up at Pansodan on a Tuesday night because a friend heard Aung Soe Min and Nancy Cunningham collect old photographs and thought they might have pictures in this archive that might be of use to me. I am here researching the ways people in the past have belonged to Rangoon. This is a project based in the personal – my family lived here for several generations and I was born here, but left while an infant. I am also here to find out what it means to come ‘back’ to a place that has been a strong part of my identity, but that I know very little about (apart from family stories of course). I am hoping to turn both strands of this research into my second book.`


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

