PanSuriya Art Post


kyi may kaung : cut & paste
11 April 2009, 22:22
Filed under: exhibit | Tags: , , , , ,

Collage is one of the easiest as well as one of the most challenging art forms possible.

All you need are a sheet of paper to use as a base, scrap paper from magazines etc., scissors and glue and your imagination.

Matisse in his old age when arthritis had hurt his fingers, used scissors to make such arresting collages as Blue Nude.

I myself like collages, which like Matisse’s, are not cluttered and which stress shape, color and form.

This is challenging because you have to cut or tear cleanly and know what you want. You have to select paper you will use from paper you will throw away.

Elsworth Kelly’s work could be collages, except they are presented as large paintings.

I like to “cut against the grain” of the original image.

I use recycled paper from clothes catalogs or bits of my paintings that “don’t work” and scrap odd and ends from my wearable art projects.

I like abstracts rather than figurative, representational images.

I am an artist “out of Burma” but I don’t feel I should paint or produce only so-called “Burmese images” of dancers, pagodas etc.

Much of my inspiration comes from Nature.

Sometimes the color of a piece of paper will inspire me to cut it a certain way.

Collage is an environmentally friendly art form as it uses recycled material.

I also make 3 D collages of found materials.

Read Kyi May Kaung’s bio and find more collages below the image.

kmk-collage-images
Kyi May Kaung (Ph.D.) has a doctorate in Political Economy from the University of Pennsylvania and her day job is as a socially committed political and economic analyst.

She has painted since she was a child, with well-known Burmese artists such as U San Win and U Ngwe Gaing, but has attended few art classes.

She has shown her art at Foundry Gallery, Washington DC, Space 7-10 in Silver Spring MD, Hotel Arthur in Helsinki, Finland, Heliport Gallery MD., SuvarnaBhumi Gallery, Chiangmai, Dragonfly Gallery, Ubud, Bali and now Suriya Gallery, Chiangmai, Thailand.

She paints mostly abstracts or portraits of imagined iconic figures and composite portraits of imagined people such as “Our Lady of Poppies,” generated from her imagination and some photographs. Sometimes the portraits change age, ethnicity or gender as she paints.

To buy or commission her art, please contact Suriya Gallery or leave a message on her blog site http://kyimaykaung.blogspot.com


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful work. I would love to see more. I’m finding that the process of collage is a great opportunity to witness to what extent I’m willing to allow my choices to ride the energy of the moment. I can also see when I contract and the process dumps me into confusion.

Comment by gwen gibson

Eye catching and inspiring. Depth as a person, and equal depth to your work. Beautiful!

Comment by Nickie Sekera

This is a wonderful site, combining as it does visual art and letters.

It’s also a good opportunity for me to “go to Rangoon” and see the paintings hanging in Pansodan.

I was going to say “Pansuriya” must be a combination of Pansodan and Suriya.

But it also works as a Polish man’s name — Pan Suriya.

No kidding.

I spent 8 months in Warsaw in 1969.

Some of Harn Lay’s paintings remind me of snow.

I am glad Burmese art is enjoying a great birth or rebirth.

Like all births, as Neruda said, it is painful but full of joy, unless maybe the birth is the result of a rape.

Kyi May Kaung. 4-24-09

Comment by Kyi May Kaung




Leave a Reply

